Revocation in Sovrin

Recently on Twitter, someone said: “I’d like to believe that we can do revocation and recovery without biometrics and without single points of failure”.

Sovrin provides a decentralized means of revocation using cryptographic accumulators. This PDF document describes how revocation works in Sovrin.

Thanks for the link! It’s an interesting read. Does sovrin have any notion of “recovery” yet? I’m new to Sovrin so forgive my terminology… If I lose my root/main secret am I completely out of luck?

Yes, key recovery is a big issue.

We are working on distributed key management systems (DKMS) as part of the overall Sovrin ecosystem.

Thanks for the response! Anywhere I can look at the current thinking?

hey @tobowers Tobowers - the DKMS work is in progress at Evernym and there will be a research report and functional demo release by the end of March 2018. All of the work will be open sourced and contributed to Hyperledger Indy (and by extension, built into Sovrin.

I will check and see if there is anything released yet.

I see that you guys were (extremely nicely) asking for me over in the sovrin slack channel. Here was the link posted there: https://github.com/WebOfTrustInfo/rebooting-the-web-of-trust-spring2017/blob/master/topics-and-advance-readings/dkms-decentralized-key-mgmt-system.md

http://iiw.idcommons.net/DKMS_–_Key_Recovery_Summit:_Biometric_Recovery,_Cold_Storage,_Social_Recovery

Hi @phil
I’ve a question to the revocation on Sovrin. I’ve read the paper “What goes on the Ledger” and “digital identites in the blockchain era” you have kindly provided. As far as i understand it claim issuers publish an encrypted revocation list (called validity tails in the second paper).
But isn’t it a privacy threat to publish claim revocations lists on a public accessible ledger?